# Diary Study

Diary studies record the use of a product in the actual context and over a longer period of time.

Symbol image for a usage scenario

# Summary

Diary studies are conducted over an extended period of time in the intended environment of the product. The participants independently document their experiences and activities with the product in a given diary. It makes sense to specify a structure for the diary, e.g. questions to be answered or tasks to be performed. Diary studies can be realized classically with paper and pen, as web-based version or as video recording.

# Result

Qualitative data on a user's behaviour, activities, and experiences with a product in the actual context of use.

# Approach

In preparation, the objectives of the study must be formulated and the form and scope of the diary defined. Also, the task for the participants must be formulated and the participants selected. If technology (e.g. video cameras) is to be used, it must also be prepared.

At the beginning of the implementation, a meeting with all participants to introduce the study, present the diary and, if necessary, explain how to use the technology is useful. While the study is running, the participants should be continuously supervised and there should always be a contact person available. A regular reminder to fill in the diary can also be helpful. At the end of the study, there is often a final interview in which questions can be asked about the respondent's entries. Feedback from the respondent can also be obtained in order to improve future studies.

After the diary study, the notes must be evaluated and prepared for documentation.

# Tools and templates

For each subject:

  • Prepared diary in paper form, or
  • Laptop/Tablet/(Smartphone) for recording in a web-based diary, or
  • Recording device (audio or video)

# Advantages

The method takes place in the natural environment of the usage situation and results are not falsified by laboratory conditions.

# Disadvantages

The results are strongly dependent on the motivation and participation of the participants. On the one hand, the participants must have understood exactly how the entries are to be made. On the other hand, they must repeatedly write entries in good quality and with meaningful content. The evaluation of a diary study is time-consuming since it concerns numerous qualitative data.

# References

# Tagebuchstudie

Tagebuchstudien erfassen die Nutzung eines Produkts im tatsächlichen Kontext und über einen längeren Zeitraum.

Bewertung

Kosten
Zeitaufwand
Notwendige Expertise
Symbolbild für ein Nutzungsszenario

# Zusammenfassung

Tagebuchstudien werden über einen längeren Zeitraum in der vorgesehenen Umgebung des Produkt durchgeführt. Dabei dokumentieren die Teilnehmer selbständig ihre Erfahrungen und Aktivitäten mit dem Produkt in einem vorgegebenen Tagebuch. Es ist sinnvoll eine Struktur für das Tagebuch vorzugeben, z.B. Fragen die beantwortet oder Aufgaben die durchgeführt werden müssen. Tagebuchstudien können klassisch mit Papier und Stift, als webbasierte Version oder als Videoaufzeichnung realisiert werden.

# Ergebnis

Qualitative Daten zu Verhalten, Aktivitäten und Erfahrungen eines Benutzers mit einem Produkt im tatsächlichen Nutzungskontext.

# Vorgehen

Zur Vorbereitung müssen die Ziele der Studie formuliert sowie Form und Umfang des Tagebuchs festgelegt werden. Außerdem muss die Aufgabenstellung für die Teilnehmer formuliert und die Teilnehmer ausgewählt werden. Soll Technik (z.B. Videokameras) zum Einsatz kommen, so muss auch diese vorbereitet werden.

Zu Beginn der Durchführung ist ein Treffen mit allen Teilnehmern zur Einführung in die Studie, Vorstellung des Tagebuchs und ggf. Erklärungen zum Umgang mit der Technik sinnvoll. Während die Studie läuft sollten die Teilnehmer kontinuierlich betreut werden und stets ein Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung stehen. Auch kann eine regelmäßige Erinnerung zum Ausfüllen des Tagebuchs hilfreich sein. Am Ende der Studie steht häufig ein Abschlussinterview in dem Fragen zu den Einträgen des Probanden gestellt werden können. Auch Feedback vom Probanden kann eingeholt werden um zukünftige Studien zu verbessern.

Nach der Tagebuchstudie müssen die Aufzeichnungen ausgewertet und für die Dokumentation aufbereitet werden.

# Hilfsmittel und Templates

Für jeden Probanden:

  • Vorbereitetes Tagebuch in Papierform, oder
  • Laptop/Tablet/(Smartphone) zur Aufzeichnung bei einem webbasierten Tagebuch, oder
  • Aufzeichnungsgerät (Audio oder Video)

# Vorteile

Die Methode findet in der natürlichen Umgebung der Nutzungssituation statt und Ergebnisse werden nicht durch Laborbedingungen verfälscht.

# Nachteile

Die Ergebnisse sind stark von Motivation und Beteiligung der Teilnehmer abhängig. Zum einen müssen die Teilnehmer genau verstanden haben, wie die Einträge erfolgen sollen. Zum anderen müssen sie wiederholt Einträge in guter Qualität und mit sinnvollen Inhalt verfassen. Die Auswertung einer Tagebuchstudie ist aufwändig, da es sich um zahlreiche qualitative Daten handelt.

# Referenzen