# Cognitive Walkthrough

During a cognitive walkthrough, the usability of an interactive system is assessed by experts from the point of view of a user.

Example of a person during a Cognitive Walkthrough

# Summary

During a Cognitive Walkthrough, a usability expert evaluates the interactive system from the user's point of view by putting himself in the role of a user. He conducts concrete tasks with the interactive system and checks the fulfilment of the usability criteria from the perspective of a persona: can the task be completed satisfactorily without detours? Does the interactive application provide enough hints and feedback to recognize progress and next steps?

In general, an inspection by experts (besides the Cognitive Walkthrough, e.g. also the Heuristic Evaluation gives feedback on how a product or a concept idea can be optimized. Expert reviews, in general, are particularly helpful because usability experts can also suggest solutions for difficult design problems based on their experience with many different applications. An inspection by experts is particularly useful if an existing product is to be improved or if concepts for a new product already exist that you do not yet want to test with end-users.

# Result

A prioritized and weighted list of vulnerabilities / usability problems of the investigated system as well as suggestions for improvement.

# Approach

Before a cognitive walkthrough, the usability experts and the part of the interactive system to be investigated must be selected. If available: Which usage scenarios should be evaluated from the perspective of which persona? Tasks and subtasks must be defined for the evaluation.

Each usability expert carries out the evaluation independently and works through the defined tasks. In doing so, attention is paid and documented to whether usability problems arise.

The usability experts may evaluate the cognitive walkthrough in a joint workshop, list all found weaknesses, classify them according to their severity and then prioritize them. Based on this, suggestions for improvement can be developed.

# Tools and Templates

For documentation: photo/video camera or sound recorder and/or screencast software

# Advantages

This method can be used at an early stage of development and offers less effort than an evaluation with representatives of the user group. A high degree of transparency is provided by the detailed description and the complete thinking through by an expert. In addition, suggestions for improvement can be easily derived. A cognitive walkthrough identifies problems that can occur during the first use of an interactive system.

# Disadvantages

The quality of the results strongly relies on the expertise of the usability expert and the problems found are not necessarily relevant for the real usage context. Even for an expert, it is difficult to evaluate the application from the user's point of view and to hide his previous knowledge. The Cognitive Walkthrough is more complex than the [heuristic evaluation] (heuristic-evaluation.html).

# References

# Cognitive Walkthrough

Bei einem Cognitive Walkthrough wird die Usability eines interaktiven Systems durch Experten aus der Sicht eines Nutzers beurteilt.

Bewertung

Kosten
Zeitaufwand
Notwendige Expertise
Beispiel einer Person während eines Cognitive Walkthrough

# Zusammenfassung

Bei Cognitive Walkthrough evaluiert ein Usability-Experte das interaktive Systems aus Nutzersicht, indem er sich in die Rolle eines Nutzers versetzt. Dabei führt er konkrete Aufgaben mit dem interaktiven System durch und prüft dabei die Erfüllung der Usability-Kriterien aus der Sicht einer Persona: kann die Aufgabe ohne Umwege zufriedenstellend erledigt werden? Gibt die interaktive Anwendung ausreichend Hinweise und Feedback um Fortschritt und nächste Schritte zu erkennen?

Allgemein gibt eine Inspektion durch Experten (neben dem Cognitive Walkthrough, z.B. auch die Heuristischen Evaluation Feedback, wie ein Produkt oder eine Konzeptidee optimiert werden kann. Expertenreviews allgemein sind besonders deswegen hilfreich, weil Usability-Experten aus der Erfahrung mit vielen verschiedenen Anwendungen heraus auch Lösungen für schwierige Design-Probleme vorschlagen können. Eine Inspektion durch Experten bietet sich besonders an, wenn ein bereits existierendes Produkt verbessert werden soll oder bereits Konzepte für ein neues Produkt vorliegen, die man aber noch nicht mit Endanwendern testen möchte.

# Ergebnis

Eine priorisierte und gewichtete Liste von Schwachstellen / Usability-Problemen des untersuchten Systems sowie ggf. Verbesserungvorschläge.

# Vorgehen

Im Vorfeld eines Cognitive Walkthrough müssen die Usability-Experten und der zu untersuchende Teil des interaktiven Systems ausgewählt werden. Falls vorhanden: Welche Nutzungsszenarien sollen aus der Perspektive welcher Persona evaluiert werden? Es müssen Aufgaben und Teilaufgaben für die Evaluation festgelegt werden.

Die Evaluation führt jeder Usability-Experten selbstständig durch und arbeitet dabei die definierten Aufgaben ab. Dabei wird darauf geachtet und dokumentiert, ob es dabei zu Usability-Problemen kommt.

Die Auswertung des Cognitive Walkthrough können die Usability-Experten in einem gemeinsamen Workshop vornehmen, dabei sämtliche gefundenen Schwachstellen auflisten, hinsichtlich der Schwere klassifizieren und dann priorisieren. Darauf aufbauend können ggf. Verbesserungsvorschläge erarbeitet werden.

# Hilfsmittel und Templates

Zur Dokumentation: Foto-/Videokamera oder Tonaufnahmegerät und/oder Screencast-Software

# Vorteile

Diese Methode ist bereits in einem frühen Entwicklungsstadium einsetzbar und bietet einen geringeren Aufwand gegenüber einer Evaluationen mit Vertretern der Nutzergruppe. Durch die detaillierte Beschreibung und das vollständige Durchdenken durch einen Experten ist eine hohe Transparenz gegeben. Außerdem sind Verbesserungsvorschläge leicht ableitbar. Ein Cognitive Walkthrough identifiziert Probleme die bei der Erstbenutzung eines interaktiven Systems auftreten können.

# Nachteile

Die Qualität der Ergebnisse ist stark von der Expertise des Usability-Experten abhängig und die gefundenen Probleme sind nicht unbedingt relevant für den realen Nutzungskontext. Selbst für einen Experten ist es schwierig die Anwendung aus der Nutzersicht zu evaluieren und sein Vorwissen auszublenden. Der Cognitive Walkthrough ist aufwändiger als die heuristische Evaluation.

# Referenzen