# Questionnaire

Using a (standardized) questionnaire, the usability or user experience of an interactive system can be measured.

Example of an online questionnaire

# Summary

Questionnaires can be used for user studies or as (online) surveys. They are used to collect user opinions in the form of quantitative and/or qualitative data. If standardised usability questionnaires (e.g. System Usability Scale (SUS)) are used, usability can be recorded quantitatively and comparably. By asking open questions, qualitative results can be achieved which, for example, contain usability problems and experiences with the interactive system.

# Result

A usability assessment and user opinions of the interactive system in quantitative and/or qualitative form.

# Approach

The target group of the questionnaire must be determined in advance and a suitable questionnaire selected or created. The latter is strongly dependent on the objective of this evaluation method. After this selection has been made, a pre-test should be carried out. This serves the estimation of the duration of the survey as well as the examination of comprehensibility and logical sequence. Only after this, the potential candidates should be contacted for a survey.

During the survey, it may be necessary to answer questions from the respondents.

After completion of the survey, it must be evaluated and documented. For some questionnaires, there are templates that ease the evaluation.

# Tools and templates

# Advantages

It is possible to obtain a large amount of data with relatively little effort. Through the use of standardized questionnaires, comparisons between systems or a before and after comparison are possible. In contrast to observation and interviews, a quantitative measurement of usability or user experience is possible.

# Disadvantages

In contrast to interviews, there is no possibility to ask questions and to understand backgrounds or to eliminate comprehension difficulties. Furthermore, the quality of the results depends strongly on the quality of the questionnaire. In addition, the individual creation of a questionnaire is time-consuming and requires experience and specialist knowledge. Possibly the statements a user wants to make do not fit to the given questions and relevant aspects get lost. As with other methods, the evaluation of qualitative data is complex.

# References

# Fragebogen

Mithilfe eines (standardisierten) Fragebogens kann die Usability oder User Experience eines interaktiven Systems gemessen werden.

Bewertung

Kosten
Zeitaufwand
Notwendige Expertise
Beispiel eines Online-Fragebogens

# Zusammenfassung

Fragebögen können einerseits im Rahmen von Nutzerstudien oder als (Online-)Umfragen zum Einsatz kommen. Sie dienen der Erfassung von Nutzermeinungen in Form von quantitativen und/oder qualitativen Daten. Kommen standardisierte Usability-Fragbögen (z.B. System Usability Scale (SUS)) zum Einsatz, zu kann die Usability quantitativ und vergleichbar erfasst werden. Mittels offener Fragen können qualitative Ergebnisse erzielt werden die z.B. Usability-Probleme und Erfahrungen von Anwendern enthalten.

# Ergebnis

Eine Usability-Bewertung und Nutzermeinungen des interaktiven Systems in quantitativer und/oder qualitativer Form.

# Vorgehen

Im Vorfeld muss die Zielgruppe des Fragebogens bestimmt und ein passender Fragebogen gewählt oder erstellt werden. Letzteres ist stark abhängig vom Ziel dieser Evaluationsmethode. Nachdem diese Auswahl getroffen ist, sollte ein Pre-Test durchgeführt werden. Dieser dient der Abschätzung der Dauer der Umfrage sowie der Überprüfung auf Verständlichkeit und logischer Ablauf. Erst danach sollten bei einer Umfrage die potentiellen Kandidaten kontaktiert werden.

Während der Durchführung müssen eventuell Fragen der Probanden beantwortet werden.

Nach Abschluss der Umfrage muss diese ausgewertet und dokumentiert werden. Für einige Fragebögen existieren hierfür Vorlagen die dem Umfrageersteller den Aufwand der Auswertung abnehmen.

# Hilfsmittel und Templates

# Vorteile

Es ist möglich mit relativ geringen Aufwand zahlreiche Daten zu erhalten. Durch die Verwendung standardisierter Fragebögen sind Vergleiche zwischen System oder ein Vorher-Nachher-Vergleich möglich. Im Gegensatz zu einer Beobachtung und Interviews ist eine quantitative Messung der Usability oder auch der User Experience möglich.

# Nachteile

Im Gegensatz zu Interviews besteht keine Möglichkeit nachzufragen und Hintergründe zu erfassen oder Verständnisschwierigkeiten zu beseitigen. Des Weiteren ist die Qualität der Ergebnisse stark von der Qualität des Fragebogens abhängig. Zudem ist die individuelle Erstellung eines Fragebogens aufwändig und erfordert Erfahrung und Fachwissen. Möglicherweise passen die Aussagen die ein Nutzer treffen möchte nicht zu den vorgegebenen Fragen und relevante Aspekte gehen somit verloren. Wie bei anderen Methoden auch, ist die Auswertung von qualitativen Daten aufwendig.

# Referenzen