# Storyboard

A storyboard is a comic strip that visualizes the sequence of interaction.

Example of a Storyboard

# Summary

With a storyboard, usage requirements can be sketched out at an early stage of the project. In contrast to Wireframes, which show individual sections of an application, storyboards are used to illustrate an interaction from the user's point of view, usually in the form of a comic. The different steps of an interaction are illustrated. They are used for communication within the development team and ensure a common understanding.

# Result

Sketch-like visualization of a sequence of an interaction with the application.

# Approach

The results from the analysis phase serve as input for the development of storyboards. It has to be decided which interactions are to be visualized and the individual steps of the interaction have to be known. This enables interactions to be drawn in comic form from the user's point of view.

# Tools and Templates

# Advantages

A visual representation is usually more understandable than a textual description of an interaction. They thus serve to generate a common basic understanding within the development team and can prevent comprehension problems. Illustrations of different variants can serve as a basis for discussions, comparisons, and decisions for a variant. Storyboards also provide a good overview of the application and its interactions.

# Disadvantages

If the representation becomes very detailed and extensive, the effort can be high.

# References

# Storyboard

Ein Storyboard ist ein Comic der den Ablauf einer Interaktion visualisiert.

Bewertung

Kosten
Zeitaufwand
Notwendige Expertise
Beispiel eines Storyboards

# Zusammenfassung

Mit einem Storyboard können Nutzungsanforderungen bereits in einer frühen Projektphase skizzenhaft visualisiert werden. Im Gegensatz zu Wireframes, die einzelne Ausschnitte einer Anwendung zeigen, dienen Storyboards der Abbbildung einer Interaktion aus der Sicht eines Nutzers meist in Form eines Comics. Die einzelnen Schritte einer Interaktion werden dargestellt. Sie dienen der Kommunikation innerhalb des Entwicklungs-Teams und sorgen für ein gemeinsames Verständnis.

# Ergebnis

Skizzenhafte Visualisierung eines Ablaufs einer Interaktion mit der Anwendung.

# Vorgehen

Als Grundlage zur Entwicklung von Storyboards dienen die Ergebnisse aus der Analyse-Phase. Es muss entschieden werden, welche Interaktionen visualisiert werden sollen und die einzelnen Schritte der Interaktion müssen bekannt sein. Damit können Interaktionen aus der Sicht des Nutzers in Comicform gezeichnet werden.

# Hilfsmittel und Templates

  • Papier und Stifte (z.B. dünner schwarzer Stift, dicker schwarzer Stift, grauer Textmarker)
  • Vorlage für Storyboard

# Vorteile

Eine visuelle Darstellung ist zumeist verständlicher als eine textuelle Beschreibung einer Interaktion. Sie dienen damit der Generierung eines gemeinsamen Grundverständnisses innerhalb des Entwicklungs-Teams und können Verständnisprobleme vorbeugen. Abbildungen verschiedener Varianten können als Grundlage für Diskussionen, Gegenüberstellungen und Entscheidungen für eine Variante dienen. Außerdem schaffen Storyboards einen guten Überblick über die Anwendung und ihren Interaktionen.

# Nachteile

Wird die Darstellung sehr detailliert und umfangreich, so kann der Aufwand hoch sein.

# Referenzen