# Usage scenario

A usage scenario is a textual description of the interaction with an interactive system.

Symbol image for a usage scenario

# Summary

Usage scenarios are used to describe the workflow and usage context of users. Similar to use cases, they describe the individual steps that a user takes to complete his task or achieve his goal. They provide an overview of the user's actions without describing the technical details. Therefore, unlike use cases, they are often not an official, formal document. Often the scenarios are not formulated neutrally, but, for example, from a persona's (persona.html) point of view. In contrast to Storyboards, the interaction between user and system is described textually and in narrative form. Usage scenarios support the design process: They serve the communication within the development team and ensure a common understanding.

One variant is the "Day in the Life" scenario. It describes the entire daily routine of a user and thus also covers larger contexts. A "Day in the Life" scenario can contain several individual usage scenarios.

# Result

A textual description of the interaction with an interactive system.

# Approach

The results from the analysis phase serve as input for the development of usage scenarios. A scenario is written in simple, narrative language from the perspective of a persona. Both the interaction and the usage context are described. Technical details should be avoided. After completion, the usage scenario is ideally reviewed by representatives of the user group.

# Utilities and templates

word processing application

# Advantages

Usage scenarios are used to generate a common basic understanding within the development team and can prevent comprehension problems. Descriptions of different variants can serve as a basis for discussions, comparisons, and decisions. In addition, usage scenarios provide a good overview of the application and its interactions.

# Disadvantages

If the description becomes very detailed and extensive, the effort can be high.

# References

# Nutzungsszenario

Ein Nutzungszenario ist eine textuelle Beschreibung der Interaktion mit einem interaktiven System.

Bewertung

Kosten
Zeitaufwand
Notwendige Expertise
Symbolbild für ein Nutzungsszenario

# Zusammenfassung

Nutzungsszenarien dienen der Beschreibung von Arbeitsabläufen und Nutzungskontext der Benutzer. Ähnlich wie Use Cases beschreiben sie die einzelnen Schritte, die ein Anwender unternimmt, um seine Aufgabe zu erledigen bzw. sein Ziel zu erreichen. Sie stellen die Handlungen der Nutzer im Überblick dar, ohne die technischen Details zu beschreiben. Deshalb sind sie im Gegensatz zu Use Cases auch oft kein offizielles, formales Dokument. Oft werden die Szenarien nicht neutral formuliert, sondern beispielsweise Personas als handelnde Personen dargestellt. Im Gegensatz zu Storyboards, wird die Interaktion zwischen Anwender und System bei Nutzungsszenarien textuell beschrieben und zwar in Erzählform. Nutzungsszenarien unterstützen den Gestaltungsprozess: Sie dienen der Kommunikation innerhalb des Entwicklungs-Teams und sorgen für ein gemeinsames Verständnis.

Eine Variante ist das "Day in the Life" Szenario. Dabei wird ein gesamter Tagesablauf eines Benutzers beschrieben und somit auch größere Zusammenhänge erfasst. Ein "Day in the Life" Szenario kann möglicherweise mehrere einzelne Nutzungsszenarien enthalten.

# Ergebnis

Eine textuelle Beschreibung der Interaktion mit einem interaktiven System.

# Vorgehen

Als Grundlage zur Entwicklung von Nutzungsszenarien dienen die Ergebnisse aus der Analyse-Phase. Ein Szenario wird in einfacher, erzählender Sprache aus der Perspektive einer Persona geschrieben. Es wird sowohl die Interaktion als auch der Nutzungskontext beschrieben. Dabei sollten technische Details vermieden werden. Nach Fertigstellung wird das Nutzungsszenario im Idealfall durch Repräsentanten der Nutzergruppe gereviewt.

# Hilfsmittel und Templates

Textbearbeitungsprogramm

# Vorteile

Nutzungsszenarien dienen der Generierung eines gemeinsamen Grundverständnisses innerhalb des Entwicklungs-Teams und können Verständnisprobleme vorbeugen. Beschreibungen verschiedener Varianten können als Grundlage für Diskussionen, Gegenüberstellungen und Entscheidungen dienen. Außerdem schaffen Nutzungsszenarien einen guten Überblick über die Anwendung und ihren Interaktionen.

# Nachteile

Wird die Beschreibung sehr detailliert und umfangreich, so kann der Aufwand hoch sein.

# Referenzen