# Styleguide

Styleguides contain concrete specifications for the design of an application.

Example for a section of a styleguide

# Summary

Styleguides are concrete design rules that describe the appearance of an application in detail, mostly at pixel level. They can describe all levels of the application: from layout to aesthetics. Styleguides are usually company- or product-specific and usually part of a design system (curated list of design systems).

# Result

The use of a style guide results in a uniform look&feel of the application(s).

# Approach

The procedure distinguishes between application and creation of a style guide: The relevant style guide must first be selected and then the design specifications for the individual UI elements must be considered and applied. UI elements may include colors, fonts, icons, page layout, menu placement, spacing, buttons, etc.

If a style guide is to be created, the effort depends on the available material. If no visual drafts exist yet, they must be created. Specifically, the entire look and feel of an application or product must be designed in a graphics program. Possible topics are, for example:

  • The application framework: Header, Footer, Navigation, Message Concept
  • Layout of the entire application and for different page/dialog types
  • Navigation concept: Main navigation, menus, and submenus, if necessary navigation aids such as sitemap or breadcrumbs
  • Definition of patterns of UI elements or behavior patterns of the application
  • Guidelines for the use of individual components such as buttons or text fields

If these drafts exist, the style guide can be created automatically using an application, e.g. Zeplin.

# Utilities and templates

Examples of style guides:

# Advantages

Style guides are used to develop consistent user interfaces and design decisions follow predefined guidelines. This is also ensured when other people develop the application further. With a style guide, the design effort of an application is reduced.

# Disadvantages

Style guides must be regularly updated and maintained. In addition, the individual design freedom can be restricted by very detailed style guides.

# References

# Styleguide

Styleguides enthalten konkrete Vorgaben zur Gestaltung einer Anwendung.

Bewertung

Kosten
Zeitaufwand
Notwendige Expertise
Beispiel für einen Ausschnitt aus einem Styleguide

# Zusammenfassung

Styleguides sind konkrete Gestaltungsregeln die detailliert, zumeist auf Pixelebene, das Aussehen einer Anwendung beschreiben. Sie können dabei alle Ebenen der Anwendung beschreiben: vom Layout bis zur Ästhetik. Normalerweise sind Styleguides unternehmens- oder produktspezifisch und heute meist Bestandteil eines Design Systems (kuratierte Liste von Design Systemen).

# Ergebnis

Der Einsatz eines Styleguides führt zu einem einheitlichen Look&Feel der Anwendung(en).

# Vorgehen

Beim Vorgehen wird zwischen Anwendung und Erstellung eines Styleguides unterschieden: Beim Einsatz muss zunächst der relevante Styleguide ausgewählt werden und dann die Gestaltungsvorgaben zu den einzelnen UI-Elementen beachtet sowie angewandt werden. Zu den UI-Elementen können beispielsweise Farben, Schriften, Icons, Aufbau der Seite, Platzierung des Menüs, Abstände, Buttons etc. zählen.

Soll ein Styleguide erstellt werden, so ist der Aufwand abhängig vom vorhandenen Material. Existieren noch keine visuellen Entwürfe, so müssen diese erstellt werden. Konkret muss das gesamte Look&Feel einer Anwendung oder eines Produkts in einem Grafikprogramm gestaltet werden. Mögliche Inhalte sind beispielsweise:

  • Der Anwendungsrahmen: Header, Footer, Navigation, Meldungskonzept
  • Layout der Gesamtanwendung und für verschiedene Seiten-/Dialogtypen
  • Navigationskonzept: Hauptnavigation, Menüs und Untermenüs, ggf. Navigationshilfen wie Sitemap oder Breadcrumbs
  • Definition von Mustern (Patterns) von UI-Elementen oder Verhaltensmuster der Anwendung
  • Richtlinien für den Einsatz von einzelnen Komponenten wie Buttons oder Textfeldern

Existieren diese Entwürfe, so kann mithilfe einer Anwendung, z.B. Zeplin der Styleguide automatisch erstellt werden.

# Hilfsmittel und Templates

Beispiele für Styleguides:

# Vorteile

Mithilfe von Styleguides werden konsistente Benutzeroberflächen entwickelt und Designentscheidungen folgen festen Vorgaben. Dies ist auch sichergestellt, wenn andere Personen die Anwendung weiter entwickeln. Mit einem Styleguide verringert sich der Gestaltungsaufwand einer Anwendung.

# Nachteile

Styleguides müssen regelmäßig aktualisiert und gepflegt werden. Außerdem kann der individuelle Gestaltungsfreiraum durch sehr detaillierte Styleguides eingeschränkt werden.

# Referenzen